Just for Fun

Best Ensembles

Summers are perfect for road trips with family and friends so I’ve been inspired by that idea to blog about my favorite literary ensembles!

I think Hermione would be the best character to take a road trip with – she is so uber-prepared that I feel like I wouldn’t want for a thing … and she could probably stuff a lot of snacks into her magically charmed hand bag.

 

gt

The Golden Trio from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Harry, Ron, and Hermione are the epitome of #friendshipgoals.

Their personalities are very different but work together so well; their strengths filling in each others’ weaknesses — just like my friends do for me.

Harry with his quest for “doing the right thing – even if it comes down to life or death…literally“, Hermione with her book smarts and quick mind, and Ron with his affable nature and laid back personality, and loving supportive family, all make up a trio that is a force to be reckoned with.

There are so many character ensembles in the Harry Potter series to love…like Dumbledore’s Army, the Weasley family, and the Order of the Phoenix, and even the Death Eaters, are awe-inspiring ensembles that came out of Rowling’s imagination…I admire her character writing so much – she spins literal magic!

6oc

“No Mourners, No Funerals” gang from Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Omgosh. Kaz and his merry band of mercenaries for hire.

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

They are supposed to be the villains but somehow turn out to be a band of characters the reader cheers for. Sometimes I forget that Kaz’s character is written so young! since many of the things he does are so cold and horrible. I love how Kaz acts around Inej – all his sharp edges slightly softened by just being around her — and Nina and Mattias – oh my bleeding heart. Jesper is crafty and Wylan is adorable! I just want to gather the whole crew and give them a huge hug!

lotr

The traveling troop of Hobbits, Elf, Dwarf, Wizard and Man from Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Fellowship of the Ring is, watered down, an epic fantasy road trip with action, adventure, and a cast of meticulously detailed characters who come from very different worlds that come together to fight against a common evil.

Frodo, Sam, Pippin, and Merry are Hobbits, known for their peaceful natures and love of food – “second breakfast” anyone? Gandalf is the ‘leader mentor’ of the group, a wizard that pulls all the diverse characters together. There’s Aragorn and Boromir, the ‘Man’ in the story – strong but weak at the same time. There’s the beautiful Legolas, a skilled elf warrior, and Gimli, a rough around the edges dwarf with a chip on his shoulder.

I have read the whole series as well as watched all the movies in the series – and I think the movies did help me enjoy the books – adding to the magic and giving all the characters with the weird names faces to connect to as a reader. An epic story with unforgettable characters – perfect road trip ensemble!

 

tog

The Original Big 3 from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena a beautiful and skilled assassin who also happens to love to read and clothes!

A Prince, Dorian, heir to a powerful Kingdom ruled by a ruthless King, and a sweetheart who also happens to read…for fun!

And a loyal Captain of the Guard, Chaol, who lives to serve his Prince and keep Celaena in line (ha!)

These are the original three characters who Maas introduces to the reader in a slowly growing epic Throne of Glass series. My favorite character is Dorian. A flawed and sometimes weak character, but he wants to do good and he loves to read — and he’s handsome…and he’s a Prince…so duh. In the later books in the series Maas introduces other characters who are just as interesting and entertaining to read about; but these original three will always hold a place in my heart. I love reading how these three characters develop in their friendship as a trio, and their own strengths as they are faced with challenges both personal and magical – definitely characters I wouldn’t want to mess with!

bst

The Bennett sisters from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Lovely Jane, witty Elizabeth, pious Mary, the lemming Kitty, and flirt Lydia are five of literature’s most memorable, in my opinion, sisters. Just like the Golden Trio, all of these characters have very different personalities and perspectives on the world they are currently living within, which made them so realistic and relatable to me as a female reader.

I looked up to Jane as a role model of patience and virtue, and Elizabeth as an intelligent lady with rapier sharp wit which I adore, Mr. Darcy didn’t stand a chance 🙂 The other sisters were entertaining to read about – but I didn’t enjoy them as much. I felt sorry or rather, pity, for Mary – and contempt for Kitty’s willingness to go with anything the flirt Lydia did. I guess I am more like Elizabeth than any other sister…prejudiced.

There have been a lot of film adaptations of this classic Austen, but my personal favorite will always be the five and a half hour BBC version released in the 1990s with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy!

 

Leave a comment